Apayao Election Results

Note: We will continue to update the results as soon as we get new data. In the meantime, you might want to share your thoughts on the lighter side of Cordillera politics.

UPDATE 2: Now that the election canvass in Apayao is over, we’d like to thank you for visiting this blog. We hope you continue to visit us in the future. Meanwhile, you might want to join us in our playful attempt to put words in the mouths of our Cordillera politicians here. In case you are interested in more election-related news from the Cordilleras, we have some links for you here. Lastly, you might want to read our post in honor of our kailiyans who died working for a peaceful election here.

UPDATE 1 (17 May): It seems like most incumbent officials in Apayao ran unopposed in these elections. I’m not sure if I’m a fan of this kind of politics. On the one hand, if politicians ran unopposed they would not be spending too much money to get elected (which they will presumably try to recover once they are in office) and we also won’t be seeing the kind of violence that is now happening in Abra’s hotly contested elections. On the other hand, an election where people do not have a choice between this or another candidate doesn’t really qualify as democratic. Or does it?

Anyway, our earlier post stating that Amado Almazan was contesting the gubernatorial post turned out to be, well, not true. Probably he eventually backed out after initially planning to run. Here’s the list of official-elects in Apayao and its various towns. Source: Sunstar.

Provincial officials
Governor-elect: Elias Bulut Sr.
Vice Governor-elect: Hector Pascua
Congressman-elect: Elias Bulut Jr. [Read his congressional work here and his personal worth here.]

Mayor-elect: Eleanor Bagtang
Vice Mayor-elect: Perfecto Marrero

Mayor-elect: Paul Delwasen
Vice Mayor-elect: Leonardo Dangoy

Mayor-elect: Efren De San Jose
Vice Mayor-elect: Richard De San Jose

Mayor-elect: Reynald Talimbatug
Vice Mayor-elect: Joseph Amid

Mayor-elect: Bienvenido Verzola Jr
Vice Mayor-elect: Jovencio Bullawit

Mayor-elect: Batara Laoat
Vice Mayor-elect: Cleofil Collado

Sta. Marcela
Mayor-elect: Evelyn Martinez
Vice Mayor-elect: Domingo Siluran Jr.

FIRST POST: Well, since Elias Bulut Jr. is running uncontested in the congressional race, let us conclude that he won and that he will be going back to Congress. The real contest would be between Elias Bulut Sr. and Amado Almazan. Since Apayao is Bulut country, we’re betting that Bulut Sr. will win this one. But that is merely our guess so don’t take it seriously. We hope to publish the results when we get them. Thanks.

RELATED POSTS: Cordillera Poll Roundup: 01 May 07; Cordillera Election Roundup: List of Candidates; Your Congressmen: Who’s the Richest of Them All; Are Politicians Too Powerful For Your Own Good?

One thought on “Apayao Election Results”

  1. I am very impressed witht the story of Sta. Marcela………..I lived there for over 5 years…………I love the town now.. the Mayor and his staff are very entusiastic for the improvement of the community……………..We hope and pray that, Sta.Marcela will be a model for the entire province……….
    We look forward for a beautiful town rising above every town there is around it………….We suggest that, to make life easier for business and personal interests and for progress, may the government or provincial officials should open a national hwy. from allacapan to Sta. Marcela…..We are willing to donate in the future for the progress of the community………….Sat. Marcela Hwy……….Thank you and more power to Sta.Marcela, Apayao, Philippines…………..God bless all of you and Mayor Rollie Quiang and his family and supporters

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *