Our Town: Bagulin, La Union

The town of Bagulin is found in the Cordillera mountain ranges but, administratively, it is a part of the province of La-Union. The town’s name was either derived from the name of a Kankanaey chieftain or from its original settlers, the Bago Igorots. More here.

Historically, Bagulin used to be a part of the old Mt. Province (i.e., the present Cordillera Administrative Region except Abra) but it was transferred to La-Union in 1923 following an agreement by the governors of the two provinces. At present, about 85% of the population of Bagulin are Kankanaeys or Bagos.

OTHER OUR TOWN POSTS: Bakun, Benguet; Sta. Marcela, Apayao; Bucay, Abra; Asipulo, Ifugao; Sagada, Mt. Province. SOMEWHAT RELATED: Candon, Ilocos Sur. INFO SOURCE: bagulin.gov.ph; PHOTO CREDIT: Lakbay Pilipinas.

2 thoughts on “Our Town: Bagulin, La Union”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *